Jefferson Speedway

Jefferson Logo

Clark notches second win at Jefferson Speedway!

By Jeanne & Larry Starr

June 26, 1999; Jefferson, WI. – Bruce Clark of Watertown held off defending track champion Andy Wendt of Watertown, laying claim to his second win of the season at Jefferson Speedway. Starting from the inside of the second row, Clark started to the front as Terry Morgan of Delafield pulled out to the early lead. Clark motored under Jerry Parker of Palmyra, for 2nd, on lap 2, pulling up behind Morgan. As Clark looked for a way around Morgan, Nick Wendt of Watertown claimed the 3rd spot, joining the battle for the lead. Clark made his move to the inside, on lap 6, battling for 2 laps before making the pass, with Wendt right behind for 2nd.

From there it was Clark guiding the way to the checkered, interrupted by 2 caution periods, on laps 21 and 22. As Clark took the green, for the final restart, former track champion Andy Wendt of Watertown was up to the 4th spot. Wendt made his way past Mike Taylor of Stoughton and his son Nick Wendt, to claim the 2nd spot on lap 29, looking a long way ahead to Clark. Wendt closed the gap, as the laps ticked off, closing with Clark by lap 32. Working the inside Wendt was determined to claim the win, but Clark was equally determined to stay out front. As they flew past the checkered flag it was Clark by a half car over Wendt, followed by Roger Behlke of Jefferson, Dan Chesmore of Janesville and Scott Null of Lake Mills.

Wendt set the fast qualifying pace with a 24.983 second orbit of Wisconsin’s Action Track.

Claiming the money, in the “UAW Local 95” Fast Dash was Bill Leindecker of Janesville.

Victories, in 10 lap heat races, went to Bruce Havel of Deerfield, Beau Sanden of Janesville and Scott Bleeker of Jefferson.

Moving to the feature lineup, through the 20 lap Last Chance race, were Sanden, Bill Drefahl of Edgerton, Luke Westenberg of Palmyra, Ken Piotrowski of Janesville and Bart Reinen of Jefferson.

In International division action Justin Nottestad logged his 39th feature win, with his victory in the 20 lap main event. Starting from the inside of row 6, Nottestad started the long drive to the front as Matt Nickel of Madison drove out to the early lead. As Nickel guided the way Nottestad worked his way up to the 2nd spot by lap 6, closing with Nickel on lap 7. The battle was short as Nottestad claimed the point on lap 8 and never looked back, guiding the field to the checkered flag. At the stripe it was Nottestad for the win, and the division record for feature wins, followed by Nickel, Aaron Rude of Cambridge, Scott Uttech of Beaver Dam and Mike Drays of Milton.

Nottestad set the fast qualifying pace with a 16.057 second circuit of the quarter mile, and notched victory in his 10 lap heat race, to round out a perfect night of racing.

Claiming victory in the first 10 lap heat race was Tory Adams of Madison.

Moving to the feature lineup, through the 10 lap Last Chance race were Adams, Mark English of Edgerton, Mike Dietzen of Milwaukee, Jason Uttech of Watertown and Pete Seitz of Edgerton.

In Sportsman division action Chris Purdy notched his 4th win, in 5 weeks, in the 25 lap feature. Starting from the inside of row 5 Purdy started his drive to the front as Rich Titus of Jefferson pulled ahead at the green flag. Titus held the point for 7 laps as Purdy worked his way through the field. On lap 7, three cars tangled in turn 2, bringing out the only caution of the race. On the restart it was Titus at the point, with Purdy running 2nd. Purdy moved to the inside, on the restart, claiming the top spot and setting his sights on another checkered flag.

Defending track champion Dave Oswald of Cottage Grove claimed 2nd, by lap 11, looking well ahead to Purdy. Oswald closed the gap, launching his bid for the lead by lap 18. Oswald looked for an opportunity, but none was presented, as Purdy held on for the win. At the stripe it was Purdy, by a fender, over Oswald, followed by Chad “Squirt” Stevens of Beloit, Kyle Munro of Ft. Atkinson and Titus.

Stevens set the fast pace in qualifying, with a 15.688 second lap on the quarter mile.

Claiming victory, in 10 lap heat races, were Ben Hallock of Ft. Atkinson, Josh Weir of Cottage Grove and Purdy.

Coming through the 15 lap Last Chance race to join the feature were Shane Radtke of Rome, Dale Padfield of Jefferson, Noel Ramge of Hellenville and Bret Carson of Hebron.

In Hobby Stock action Jim Williams of Milton notched his first career feature win, in the 20 lap Main Event. Starting from the inside of row 2, Williams claimed the lead on lap 1 and never looked back, guiding the field to the checkered flag. At the stripe it was Williams for the win followed by Billy Gay of Janesville, Chuck Egli of Waterloo, Dennis Gaserude of Oregon, Ernie Witte of Watertown and Lincoln Keeser of Johnson Creek.

Witte subsequently failed the post race technical inspection, moving Keeser up to the 5th spot.

Dan Schmidt of Watertown set the qualifying pace with a 17.378 second tour of the quarter mile.

Next week at Jefferson Speedway it Independence Day special, with Race Car Rides for Kids, a special appearance by Bush Grand National star Matt Kenseth, a full race program and a Darn Good Fireworks show following the races.

To make time for the Kids Rides and Matt Kenseth autograph session, the start times have been moved up; gates open at 3:00, qualifying at 4:30, kids rides at 5:45 to 6:45, Matt Kenseth will appear from 7:00 to 8:30. Racing will start at the normal (7:30 sharp) time. The Fireworks will follow the racing program.

Jefferson Speedway is located on Highway 18 between Cambridge and Jefferson.

Late Model Division
35 Lap Feature Event
1. # 7 Bruce Clark Watertown
2. #18 Andy Wendt Watertown
3. #44 Roger Behlke Jefferson
4. #27 Dan Chesmore Janesville
5. #62 Scott Null Lake Mills
6. #76 Ron Bishofberger Fort Atkinson
7. # 7 Bill Leindecker Janesville
8. #41 Mark Taylor Stoughton
9. # 6 Bart Renien Jefferson
10. #16 Luke Westenberg Palmyra
11. #46 Nick Wendt Watertown
12. #35 Ken Olson Fort Atkinson
13. #11 Beaun Sanden Janesville
14. # 2 Jerry Perskar Palmyra
15. # 6 Ken Piotrowski Janesville
16. #70 Bill Drefahl Edgerton
17. # 5 Terry Morgan Delafield
18. #43 Denny Stair Sullivan

20 Lap Last Chance:
1.) Beau Sanden
2.) Bill Drafahl
3.) Luke Westenberg
4.) Ken Piotrowski
5.) Bart Renien

First 10 Lap Heat:
1.) Bruce Havel

Second 10 Lap Heat:
1.) Beau Sanden

Third 10 Lap Heat:
1.) Scott Bleeker

1.) Bill Leindecker
Fast Qualifier: #18 Andy Wendt, Watertown,……….14.983 Seconds

20 Lap Feature Event
1. #15 Justin Nottestad Cambridge
2. # 7 Matt Nickel Madison
3. # 9 Aaron Rude Cambridge
4. #74 Scott Uttech Beaver Dam
5. #48 Mike Drays Milton
6. #17 Mike Bingham Jefferson

10 Lap Last Chance:
1.) Tory Adams
2.) Mark English
3.) Mike Dietzen
4.) Jason Uttech
5.) Pete Seitz

First 10 Lap Heat:
1.) Tory Adams

Second 10 Lap Heat:
1.) Justin Nottestad
Fast Qualifier: #15 Justin Nottestad, Cambridge,………16.057 Seconds

25 Lap Feature Event
1. # 7 Chris Purdy Milton
2. #31 Dave Oswald Cottage Grove
3. #82 Chad Stevens Beloit
4. #30 Kyle Munro Fort Atkinson
5. #21 Rick Titus Jefferson
6. #77 Ryan Ley Rome

10 Lap Last Chance:
1.) Shane Radtke
2.) Dale Padfield
3.) Noel Ramge
4.) Brett Carson

First 10 Lap Heat:
1.) Ben Hallock

Second 10 Lap Heat:
1.) Josh Weir

Third 10 Lap Heat:
1.) Chris Purdy
Fast Qualifier: #82 Chad Stevens, Beloit,………15.688 Seconds

Hobby Stocks
20 Lap Feature Event
1. #J10 Jim Williams Milton
2. #90 Billy Gay Janesville
3. #22 Chuck Egli Waterloo
4. #18 Dennis Garserude Oregon
5. #99 Lincoln Keeser Johnson Creek

First 8 Lap Heat:
1.) Chris Matz

Second 10 Lap Heat:
1.) Jason Ayers
Fast Qualifier: #19 Dan Schmidt, Watertown,…….17.378 Seconds

Bubble Race: Best of show awards to Roger Stephenson of Cambridge and Nick Golich of Hebron.

Back To Top