Jefferson Speedway

Jefferson Logo

Doug Hahn Grabs Miller Lite 50

By Andrew Schaller

Whitewater’s Doug Hahn charged to the front of the field to claim the trophy and win the Miller Lite 50 lap Late Model feature at Jefferson Speedway. Hahn took over the lead just past the halfway point and held off the advances of point leader Jason Erickson to see the checkers first. Roger Behlke and Dennis Schmidt paced the field to green with Schmidt claiming the point at the stripe to complete the first circuit. Ty James followed around Behlke into second when the caution waved on lap six. After the restart, James began to apply pressure to Schmidt for the top spot as Hahn maneuvered into the top five. Schmidt maintained his advantage while Hahn picked off positions until he sat in third on lap 22. Four laps later, Hahn made his move for second, peeking under James as Erickson motored into the top five as well. Hahn pulled even with James for second, moving past and sliding up alongside Schmidt for the lead. After a brief battle, Hahn took control of the point, bringing Erickson along for second. The second and final caution waved on lap 36, setting up a 14 lap shootout to the finish. As the green returned, Erickson began his assault on the new leader. Erickson got a look under Hahn several times through turns one and two, but Hahn powered back out in the lead each time. As the white flag flew, Erickson tried one last time to overtake the leader, but Hahn fought him off to see the checkers first for the win. Erickson was second followed by Schmidt, James and Behlke.

In Sportsman action, Scott Riedner of Waunakee took top honors by winning the 30 lap feature event. Dan Schmidt took the initial lead from the outside of row one with Jason Dunn following into second. Dunn immediately began to pressure Schmidt, getting underneath the leader on lap five and taking the lead for himself a lap later. Meanwhile, Riedner was making his way forward to third and then second on lap 10. Riedner moved up to challenge Dunn for the top spot and the two made contact on lap 15. Both drivers slowed and maintained their positions while regrouping. Riedner continued to look to the low side lap after lap, finally getting good run on lap 22. Riedner pulled even with Dunn as the duo made contact again on lap 23. Riedner emerged with the lead and immediately opened up a healthy advantage. Riedner cruised to the win followed by Dunn, James Helmer, Schmidt and Brady Lilly.

An exciting final few laps led to Gary Stark of Madison claiming the win in the 20 lap International main event. Brad Knapp took the early lead from fellow front row starter Mike Lambert on lap one. Ashley Smith charged up alongside Knapp for the lead, taking control on lap four as Stark and Mark English made their way into the top five. Stark and English quickly moved up to challenge Smith for the top position as caution waved on lap seven. As the green returned, the three way battle for the lead was on with Smith trying to hold on to the point. On lap 13, the trio of competitors drove three wide down the backstretch resulting in Smith falling back to third and Stark emerging as the new leader. After another caution, English moved up to challenge Stark for the lead. The final seven laps were filled with the pair of drivers making contact with each other several times. Stark held strong out front to take the checkers first. English finished second followed by Smith, Chad Olds and Kyle Smith.

Defending champ Jimmy Robinson of Orfordville laid claim to the 25 lap Hobby Stock feature event. Joe Edwards and Terry Wangsness led the field to green. The two drivers battled side by side over the opening four laps with Edwards finally grabbing control on lap five. Chester Williams followed into second as Robinson motored up to third. While Williams was challenging Edwards for the lead, Robinson sized him up and stole second away on lap 11. Robinson went right to work on Edwards, pulling even with the leader on the low side. Robinson claimed the lead on lap 15 and drove out to a sizeable advantage while the fight for second raged behind him. Kyle Riedner emerged with the runner up position, but he didn’t have anything for Robinson, who crossed the stripe first for the win. Rounding out the top five were Riedner, Johnny Robinson, Williams and Edwards.

Fort Atkinson’s Jeff LeFave won a great side by side battle to capture the win in the 20 lap Bandit feature. Phil Wuesthoff took the early lead on lap one with Scott Pauls shooting up to second. LeFave began his trek to the front in the outside groove. By lap five LeFave was alongside Pauls for second. A lap later, LeFave was door to door with Wuesthoff for the lead. The two competitors battled side by side over the next 8 laps, finally ending in LeFave taking control on lap 14. LeFave stretched his lead over the closing laps to cross the stripe first followed by Wuesthoff, Pauls, Kyle Watters and Keaton Hubred.

Next Saturday, August 1, is a full program in all division highlighted by the Spectrum Coating 50 lap Late Model feature. There will also be a demolition derby following the racing program. Time trials begin at 5pm with racing at 7pm sharp. Jefferson Speedway is located halfway between Jefferson and Cambridge on Hwy 18. Please visit for more information.

Jefferson Speedway Race Summary
Late Model-
Miller Lite 50 lap Feature Results- 1) 99 Doug Hahn, Whitewater 2) 94 Jason Erickson, Fort Atkinson 3) 51 Dennis Schmidt, Juneau 4) 27 Ty James, Oconomowoc 5) 44 Roger Behlke, Jefferson 6) 52 Steve Dobbratz, Rio 7) 87 Kyle Jarlsberg, Cambridge 8) I Bob Kahler, Belvidere (IL) 9) 5 Casey Johnson, Stoughton 10) 33 Dylan Schuyler, Jefferson 11) 29 Scott Lindsay, Dousman 12) 21 Ryan Zielski, Oconomowoc 13) 16 Luke Westenberg, Jefferson 14) 4 Chris Quam, Stoughton 15) 41 Mike Taylor, Stoughton 16) 11 Trent Erdman, Fort Atkinson 17) 3 Chuck Duncan, Milwaukee 18) 61 Jerry Eckhardt, Johnson Creek
Fast Qualifier- 94 Jason Erickson—14.214 seconds
Consolation- 21 Brandon Pendleton, 7 Ed Kubicz
Last Chance- 3 Chuck Duncan, 41 Mike Taylor, 29 Scott Lindsay, 11 Trent Erdman
Heat Winners- 1) 51 Kyle Stark 2) 29 Scott Lindsay 3) 51 Dennis Schmidt

Feature Results- 1) 26 Scott Riedner, Waunakee 2) 71 Jason Dunn, Sun Prairie 3) 4 James Helmer, Oconomowoc 4) 19 Dan Schmidt, Farmington 5) 22 Brady Lilly, Milton 6) 6 Chris Ehrhart, Deerfield
Fast Qualifier- 6 Chris Ehrhart—15.184 seconds
Heat Winners- 1) 82 Mike Acheson 2) 22 Brady Lilly

Feature Results- 1) 35 Gary Stark, Madison 2) 57 Mark English, Edgerton 3) 05 Ashley Smith, Lake Mills 4) 89 Chad Olds, Whitewater 5) 90 Kyle Smith, Lake Mills 6) 66 Neil Higgins, Watertown
Fast Qualifier- 35 Gary Stark—16.455 seconds
Last Chance- 95 Matt McKinney, 11 Jason Kubicz, 77 Sean Watters, 01 Bubbles Balis
Heat Winners- 1)25 Darren Brown 2) 57 Mark English 3) 35 Gary Stark

Hobby Stock-
Feature Results- 1) 33 Jimmy Robinson, Orfordville 2) 1 Kyle Riedner, Waunakee 3) 99 Johnny Robinson, Beloit 4) 22 Chester Williams, Waukesha 5) 85 Joe Edwards, Sullivan 6) 27 Jim Tate, Watertown
Fast Qualifier- 27 Jim Tate—16.213 seconds NEW TRACK RECORD
Last Chance-2 Brent Gergen, 22 Kyle Chwala, 88 Roger Stephenson, 86 Tony Ciano
Heat Winners- 1) 22 Kyle Chwala 2) 33 Jimmy Robinson 3) 92 Kyle Stark

Feature Results- 1) 81 Jeff LeFave, Fort Atkinson 2) 99 Phil Wuesthoff, Beaver Dam 3) 18 Scott Pauls, Deerfield 4) 17 Kyle Watters, Stoughton 5) 2 Keaton Hubred, Utica 6) 75 Travis Schneeberg, Cottage Grove
Fast Qualifier- 17 Kyle Watters—14.394 seconds
Last Chance- 02 Michelle Heimann, 33 Mike White, 76 Al Stillman, 78 Kevin Pauls
Heat Winners- 1) 4 James Rece 2) 93 Heather Stark 3) 19 Gary Stark

Back To Top