Jefferson Speedway

Jefferson Logo

Nottestad Claims Mountain Dew 50 at Jefferson Speedway!

By Larry & Jeanne Starr

May 24, 2003; Jefferson, Wis. –Scott Nottestad of Stoughton made a late race pass for the win, in the Mountain Dew 50, at Jefferson Speedway. Starting from the outside of row 7, Nottestad started the long drive toward the front, as Jasper Gronert drove to the early lead. Gronert led the field for 46 of the 50 laps and 5 cautions. Running 2nd, from the start, John Ovadal battled for the top spot.

Nottestad made his way to 4th, behind Ron Bishofberger, by lap 28, fighting toward the front. As they rounded the 2nd turn, on lap 46, the leaders tangled, sending Gronert for a spin, and both to the back for the restart. With 4 laps to go, it was Bishofberger at the point and Nottestad running 2nd. Nottestad worked the low side, of Bishofberger, making the winning pass, as the rounded turn 2 on their way to the white flag. At the stripe it was Nottestad for the win, followed by Bishofberger, Dylan Schuyler, Andy Wendt and Randy Breunig.

In International division action, Brent Nottestad of Cambridge held off Aaron Rude, to claim top honor in the 20 lap main event. Starting from the outside of row 4, Nottestad started his drive to the front, as Mike Bingham pulled to the early lead. Bingham surrendered the point to Derek Bettenhausen on lap 4. Bettenhausen, in turn, gave way to Nottestad on lap 6. As Nottestad pulled to the point Rude was close behind, for 2nd. Rude battled hard for the lead, making several runs to the inside but was never, quite, able to make his way past. As they streaked by the checkered flag it was Nottestad for the win, followed by Rude, Mike Drays, Scotty Hoeft and Chris Quam.

In Sportsman division action, Dave Oswald of Cottage Grove claimed top honors in the 30 lap main event. Starting 5th Oswald headed toward the point as Dan Schmidt claimed the early lead. Schmidt led the way for 23 laps, as Oswald battled with Mark English, for the 2nd spot. English developed problems, on lap 10, dropping back in the field, and turning 2nd over to Oswald. Oswald moved under Schmidt, battling, side by side, for 13 laps before claiming the top spot. As Oswald claimed the point, Trent Erdman was close behind, for 2nd. Erdman launched his bid for the lead, battling under Oswald for the top spot. The final caution came, on lap 27. Erdman seemed to have trouble coming up to speed at the final green flag, dropping back several positions, as Oswald charged to the checkered. Oswald was first at the stripe, followed by Mark Deporter, Brent Moe, Bobby Stough Jr. and Carey Hensel.

Hobby Stock action saw Janesville’s Tim Noble lead the field, flag to flag, notching the feature win. Starting from the pole, Noble pulled ahead and never looked back, opening a quarter lap lead, on his way to the checkered. As Noble led the way, Jeramy Hartwig battled his way, from 8th to 2nd. At the stripe it was Noble for the win, followed by Hartwig, Johnny Robinson, Terry Wangsness and Rick Kehoe.

In Bandit action Peter Shelley of Edgerton claimed top honors, in the 18 lap main event. Starting for the inside of row 2, Shelley headed for the front, as Don Munns claimed the early lead. Munns held the point for 7 laps, before surrendering it to Shelley. As Shelley pulled ahead it was mayhem behind him, with so much dust kicked up from the infield, that the fans had trouble seeing the action. As the dust settled it was Shelley for the win, followed by Bill Sweeney, Munns, Chris Higgins and Tade Swerig.

Next week at Jefferson Speedway it’s “WSLD Night at The Races.” As an added special attraction, there will be a 4 Cylinder reverse bubble race. That’s right, 4 cylinder cars racing backwards on a soap suds covered track.

Gates open at 3:00, qualifying at 5:00 and racing at 7:00 sharp.

Jefferson Speedway is half way between Cambridge and Jefferson Wisconsin, on highway 18.

Jefferson Speedway – Date: May 24, 2003 – Event: Mountain Dew 50

Event: Mountain Dew 50
Late Model Feature Finish: Laps: 50
1. 14 Scott Nottestad (Stoughton) 10. 52 Steve Dobbratz (Rio)
2. 76 Ron Bishofberger (Ft. Atkinson) 11. 13 Shane Radtke (Watertown)
3. 33 Dylan Schuyler (Dousman) 12. 13 Ed Wolff III (Clyman)
4. 18 Andy Wendt (Watertown) 13. 16 Luke Westenberg (Watertown)
5. 4 Randy Breunig (Columbus) 14. 94 Nick Wendt (Watertown)
6. 62 Scott Null (Lake Mills) 15. 100 Curt Thompson (Ft. Atkinson)
7. 87 Kyle Jarlsberg (Cambridge) 16. 22 Jasper Gronert (Jefferson)
8. 11 Beau Sanden (Janesville) 17. 71 John Ovadal Jr. (Watertown)
9. 68 Ken Olson (Ft Atkinson) 18. 41 Mike Taylor (Stoughton)
FAST QUALIFIER : 4 Randy Breunig (Columbus): 14.814 seconds
FAST DASH: 8 Lap (Star Packaging): 52 Steve Dobbratz (Rio)
LAST CHANCE: 20 Lap : 13 Shane Radtke (Watertown), 68 Ken Olson (Ft. Atkinson),
13 Ed Wolff III (Clyman), 16 Luke Westenberg (Watertown)
Heats: 10 lap: 1) 2 Tom Dorn (Ft. Atkinson) 2) 68 Ken Olson (Ft. Atkinson)
3) 82 Chad “Squirt” Stevens (Orfordville)

International Feature: Laps: 20
1. 25 Brent Nottestad (Cambridge) 4. 00 Scotty Hoeft (Watertown)
2. 9 Aaron Rude (Cambridge) 5. 4 Chris Quam (Stoughton)
3. 48 Mike Drays (Milton) 6. 16 Jimmy Pankow (Oregon)
FAST QUALIFIER : 9 Aaron Rude (Cambridge): 15.864 seconds
Heats: 10 lap: 1) 97 Chris Chenoweth (Watertown) 2) 84 Steve Drays (Milton)

Sportsman Feature: Laps: 30
1. 3 Dave Oswald (Cottage Grove) 4. 48 Bobby Stough Jr. (Waunakee)
2. 28 Mark Deporter (Ft. Atkinson) 5. 55 Carey Hensel (Stoughton)
3. 26 Brent Moe (Deforest) 6. 19 Dan Schmidt (Watertown)
FAST QUALIFIER : 20 Bret Schmidt (Watertown): 15.621 seconds
CONSI: 10 Lap : 75 Chad Nicholson (Madison), 21 Tony Chase (Columbus)
LAST CHANCE: 15 Lap : 38 Brent Gergen (Jefferson), Ryan Goldade (Stoughton), 42 Tom Reents (Janesville), 59 Judy Weir (Cottage Grove)
Heats: 10 lap: 1) 17 Bill Bush (Jefferson) 2) 39 Ryan Goldade (Stoughton)
3) 19 Dan Schmidt (Watertown) 4) 14 Kyle Taylor (Stoughton)

Hobby Stock Feature: Laps: 20
1. 71 Tim Noble (Janesville) 4. 55 Terry Wangsness (Delavan)
2. 6 Jeramy Hartwig (Cottage Grove) 5. 70 Rick Kehoe (Ft. Atkinson))
3. 99 Johnny Robinson (Orfordville) 6. 00 Paul Edmundson (Whitewater)
FAST QUALIFIER : 38 Bryon Grassl (Janesville): 16.800 seconds
CONSI: 8 Lap : 01 Justin Bowey (Sullivan), 29 Mike Manley (Lake Mills)
LAST CHANCE: 12 Lap : 44 Jesse Ayers (Stoughton), 27 Jim Tate (Watertown), 71 Jason Deppe (Waterloo), 88 Rodger Stephenson (Cambridge)
Heats: 8 lap: 1) 26 Mike Bretl (Ft. Atkinson) 2) 8 Chris Schoonover (Janesville) 3) 71 Tim Noble (Janesville) 4) 88 Rodger Stephenson (Cambridge)

Bandit Feature: Laps: 15
1. 5 Peter Shelley (Edgerton) 4. 4 Chris Higgins (Watertown)
2. 42 Bill Sweeney (Janesville) 5. 1 Tade Swerig (Janesville)
3. 45 Don Munns (Milton) 6. 57 Tim Seitz (Edgerton)
FAST QUALIFIER : 42 Bill Sweeney (Janesville): 15.035 seconds (New Track Record)
CONSI: 8 Lap : 21 Dan Gooda, 7 Shawn Watters
LAST CHANCE: 12 Lap : 11 Tim Petrie (Whitewater), 12 Allen Petrie Jr. (Sun Prairie), 67 Joe Cross (Sun Prairie), 99 Jordan Hill (Black Earth)
Heats: 8 lap: 1) 94 Mike Storkson (Madison) 2) 99 Jordan Hill (Black Earth) 3) 12 Allen Petrie Jr. (Sun Prairie) 4) 57 Tim Seitz (Edgerton)

Back To Top