Jefferson Speedway

Jefferson Logo

Shaun Scheel Captures the Newville auto salvage 50

Mikey Rottier 7.15.23 Jefferson Speedway Race Report CAMBRIDGE- Jefferson Speedway delivered another entertaining night of racing this past Saturday night, headlined by a 50-lap Late Model feature win from Shaun Scheel, Lake Mills. Former Jefferson Speedway Track Champion and Wisconsin State Champion John Hansberry Jr., Brodhead, took home a feature win in the Sportsman division, and Penn Sauter, Deforest, took home his fifth Bandolero feature win on his sixth night of action this season. Cody Hoseweart, Machesney Park, Illinois, battled Scheel for the early lead in the Late Model main event. Last Saturday’s feature winner rookie Karter Stark, Marshall, and Ryan Weyer, Hubertus, caused a caution with 42 laps to go, Scheel took a comfortable lead after the restart. Hoseweart battled Dylan Schuyler, Jefferson, and Riley Stenjem, Stoughton, for the second place position. After two more restarts Stenjem made a last second move to take over the first place position, but Scheel held him off for his first feature win of the season. Tim Coley, Sun Prairie, got out to an early lead in the Sportsman 35-lap feature event. John Hansberry Jr., Brodhead, tracked him closely in second. With 20 laps to go Hansberry pulled into first past Coley. Kurt Kleven, Jefferson, rolled into third past Jared Vike, Lannon, with 10 laps to go, but Hansberry ran away with the win. Coley finished second, Kleven third, and rookie Nick Bruley, Johnson Creek, finished fourth. Despite starting five rows deep in the Bandolero feature race, Sauter climbed the ladder quickly to put himself into third place early. A three car collision coming out of turn two with 13 laps to go caused the first caution of the race. Carter Stein, Germantown, held the lead at the restart, but it wasn’t long before Sauter took over. Bentley Thompson, West Salem, caused the final caution of the race with seven laps to go. Sauter held on after the restart and earned his fifth feature win of the season, the most in any division. Timothy Higgins, Bonduel, stole an early lead from A.J. Accardi, Janesville. Currently second in the point standings, Jason Uttech, Watertown, pulled his way into second followed closely by current points leader Weston Strese, Jefferson. The division leaders made their way in front of the field and it was Strese who pulled past Uttech into the lead with nine laps to go. Blake “The Colonel” Nottestad finished fourth, Mark Dewey, Janesville, finished third. Uttech finished second. Accardi came away with the first heat of the international division and Dewey held off Strese in the second heat for the win. Mark English, Janesville, posted the fastest time in qualifying for the International division with a time of 15.475 seconds. English’s Civic SI suffered a malfunction after qualifying and was unable to race the rest of the night. Ethan Jensen won the very first race of the night in the Bandoleros first heat race. Jensen took the early lead over Kinsleigh Weber, Whitewater, and held the lead when the time expired. Jensen became the first racer at Jefferson Speedway to earn a win from an expired time limit. In the second heat Ryder Robinson, Beloit, took an early lead and ran away from the field. With three laps to go Ace Oldenhoff, Lake Mills, took the lead by going three wide with the front row, but it was Mason Lenz, Lake Mills, who came away with the advantage in the final lap. Riley Smith, Cambridge, ran away with heat four, and Easton “Spud” Riedner, Waunakee, held off Harley Johnson to win the final heat of Bandoleros. Rookie Joey Thomas, Rockford, Illinois, and Robinson took the first two places in the consolation race to make their way into the last chance. Lenz, Ace Oldenhoff, Blake Michael, Evansville, and Chase Gottschalk, Fort Atkinson, made their way into the feature event as the top four in the last chance race. Once again Sauter was the quick qualifier for the Bandoleros with a time of 16.472. In the Sportsman division Mike Bleecker, Watertown, took an early lead and held off the field for the win. Tim Coley and last Sportsman feature winner John Ovadal Jr., Watertown, engaged in a tight race that ended with Coley sticking his nose across checkers before Ovadal. In the third and final heat of the sportsman division Jay Kalbus, Watertown, got out to an early lead but collided with Jefferson native Jason Thoma near the flagstand. Thoma and Kalbus exited the pits to open the door for Kurt Kleven to earn the win. Rookie Cainen Clemons, Woodstock, Illinois, snuck into the Sportsman feature event after rookie Doyle Buzzell, Clyman, spun out with five laps to go. Chris Harmon, Waukesha, rookie Paul Johnson Jr., Edgerton, rookie Sean Eurick, New Berlin, and Clemons all earned their spot in the feature. Kleven posted the fastest qualifying time for the Sportsman with a 14.976 second lap. Rookie Shane Radtke Jr., Johnson Creek, took an early lead in the first heat of the Late Models and held off Jerry Eckhardt, Johnson Creek for the win. Schuyler claimed the second heat, and Stenjem took the victory in the third heat. In the last chance race Radtke, Tyler Peterson, Lake Geneva, Mike Taylor, Stoughton, and Bill Bush, Jefferson, earned their spot in the feature. Jason Erickson, Jefferson, was the quick qualifier for the Late Models with a 14.311 second lap. The 6-shooter division was back in action this Saturday with a make-up feature event in addition to a full racing program. In the make-up event Joshua Zacharias took the lead with 10 laps to go and held on to the lead position through the checkered flag. Mady Meyers, the only female driver  of the 6-shooter division Saturday night, won the first heat and Zacharias pulled past Bryan Gottschalk in the final lap to take the second heat. Dylan Klinger took an early lead in the main 6-shooter feature event of the night, but Ozzie Osborne took over the lead with 15 laps to go and ran away from the field. Wisconsin’s Action Track will be back to racing next Saturday, July 22. The full racing program will include the Sportsman division, Hobby Stocks, Bandits, Legends, and a special visit from the Midwest Trucks Series who will be racing the Cornfield 50 at Jefferson Speedway. For more information visit the Jefferson Speedway Website. Shaun Scheel captures the Newville Auto Salvage 50 Penn Sauter scores another win in the CR Custom Construction Bandoleros

Back To Top