skip to Main Content

Thoma tops Sportsman Cutting Edge Concrete & Construction 50

Mikey Rottier
Jefferson Speedway Race Report
CAMBRIDGE- An enthusiastic group of motosport fans enjoyed a wild night of racing in
addition to a few special events for Kids’ Night including a series of children’s big wheel races
at Wisconsin’s action track, Saturday, June 24. Jefferson Speedway tried to race five divisions
before the rain came, but the drops began to fall just over halfway through the 50-lap Sportsman
feature. The drivers completed 32 laps before the race was officially called for rain, Jason
Thoma, Jefferson, led at the stoppage to earn his second feature win of the season.
Jay Kalbus, Watertown, took the early lead in the 50-lap Sportsman feature. Current points
leader Mark Deporter worked his way through the pack and eventually pulled into third on lap
25. Jeff Steenbergen, Watertown followed Thoma into the front pack, but Thoma quickly
separated himself and pulled into the lead on lap 21. Two cautions later the first drops of rain
started to fall and the race was called, Thoma finished first, Kalbus finished second, Deporter
finished third and Tim Coley, Sun Prairie, finished fourth.
The Hobby Stock 40-lap feature began with a caution flag on the third lap for Hunter Milbrath,
Lake Mills, and Bud Riedner, Waunakee. Chester Williams, Waukesha, took an early lead, but it
was Charles Vian, Sparta, who pulled into first with 17 laps to go. Current points leader Robbie
Rucks, Deerfield, began his march towards the front with about 10 laps to go. Rucks pulled into
second with five laps left, and after pulling past Chico Riedner, Waunakee, with one lap left he
was unable to catch Vian for the top spot. Tucker Bodendorfer. Muskego, finished fourth.
Riedner third, Rucks second, and Vian first.
Landon Peterson, Fort Atkinson, took an early lead in the Bandit feature before the race was
stopped for a caution. After the restart Matt Krinke, Watertown, cruised into the lead with 15
laps to go. Nick Schmidt, Watertown, pulled into first with 10 laps to go. The caution flag came
out with nine laps to go in the race and Schmidt hooked tires with Tommy Schuette, Fort
Atkinson, to cause the biggest wreck of the night in front of the flagstand. Mason Wilcott,
Watertown, was also caught in the crash, all three cars exited the race. After the restart Krinke
pulled back into the lead with seven laps to go. Current points leader Trent Rueth, Johnson
Creek, attempted to take the lead, but Krinke held him off to earn his second feature win of the
season. Chris Gottschalk, Fort Atkinson finished third, and Peterson finished fourth.
The night started strong with wins from two female racers in the Bandolero division, McKenna
Turner, Pewaukee, and Emily Billings, Waterloo. Bentley Thompson, West Salem, won the third
heat at the last minute as he took the advantage over Riley Smith, Cambridge, in the final lap.
Penn Sauter, Deforest, started right where he left off last week with a win in the fourth and final

heat. Rookie Ransom Tate, Doylestown, and Turner earned their spot in the last chance race in
the concy. Smith, Chase Gottschalk, Fort Atkinson, Ryder Robinson, Beloit, and rookie Gage
Kubicz, Whitewater, raced their way into the feature in the last chance race.
Sauter posted the fastest qualifying lap for the Bandoleros with a time of 16.723 seconds.
In the Bandits division it was rookie Sheen Marsh, Whitewater, who won the first heat, as he
took the advantage on lap three and never looked back. In the second heat Austin Barnes,
Sullivan, got out to an early lead and ran and hid from the field for the win. Schuette, who had a
good night all around, won the third and final heat. Jordan Goecks, Janesville, Chris Cowan,
Edgerton, Merek Pankow, Jefferson, and Scott Barlass, Janesville, raced their way into the
feature as the top four finishers in the last chance race.
Schuette recorded the fastest time in qualifying for the Bandits with a 15.045 second lap.
Lucas Buckingham, Whitewater, kicked off the Hobby Stock heat races with a dominating win
as he created a gap between himself and the rest of the field. Andy Moore earned the win in the
second heat and held off a late push from last week’s feature winner Jim Tate Jr. from
Doylestown. Jessica Breunig, Columbus, was out to an early lead in the third and final heat of
the division, but veteran driver Chico Riedner took the advantage in the final lap to earn the win.
Chuck Egli, Waterloo, won the last chance race to advance to the feature along with Breunig,
Buckingham, and Chase Wangsness, Jefferson.
Once again current points leader Rucks was the quick qualifier for the Hobby Stocks with a lap
time of 15.591 seconds.
In the Sportsman division rookie Doyle Buzzell, Clyman, took an early lead in the first heat.
Sean Eurick, rookie out of New Berlin, took the advantage over Buzzell with just two laps to go
and finished first through the checkers. In the second heat current points leader Mark Deporter
took the early lead and held off a late push from Steenbergen to earn the win.
In addition to his feature win, Thoma was also the quick qualifier for the Sportsman with a time
of 14.88 seconds.
The 6 shooters had their season debut at the track to add to the night’s racing events. Dylan
Klinger took the first heat comfortably with a run away win, and Matthew Moore took the lead
with two laps to go in heat 2 for the win. The night was cut short for the 6 shooters with the rain
coming in before the feature event. Saturday, July 15, the 6 shooters will be back at Wisconsin’s
action track and a makeup feature will take place.

Moore posted the fastest qualifying time for the 6 shooters with an 18.142 second lap.
Jefferson Speedway will be back in action as always next Saturday, July 1. The full racing
program will include the Legends, Bandoleros, Internationals, Sportsman, and main

Back To Top